Archdiocese announces new archdiocesan school advisory council

The Office of Catholic Schools in the Archdiocese of Oklahoma City recently announced the creation of the Archdiocesan School Advisory Council.

After an 18-month planning study was completed by John Convey and Len DeFiore from the Center of Advancement of Catholic Education at Catholic University of America, their findings were published in the “Archdiocese of Oklahoma City Planning Study for Catholic Schools.”

A summary of these findings will be distributed to parishes.

The council was formed in response to recommendations from the planning study to gain a deeper understanding of the status of schools within the Archdiocese of Oklahoma City and to provide advice to Archbishop Coakley and Superintendent of Catholic Schools, Diane Floyd, on standardizing procedures and policies.

In addition, the council will provide advice and counsel to Archbishop Coakley and Superintendent Floyd on strategic planning, marketing and governance to help sustain, grow and strengthen the schools in the archdiocese. 

The members of the council were appointed in March 2017. The council, which meets quarterly, is comprised of pastors, parents and representatives from various parishes and schools in the archdiocese. Carrie Leonard serves as chairman. 

Other members of the council are:
Whit Bass – Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton
Anita Cornelius – Saint John Nepomuk
Nicole Dell’Osso – Christ the King
Tony Gianino – All Saints
Debbie Jones – Christ the King, Bishop McGuinness Catholic High School
Carrie Leonard – Christ the King, BMCHS
Anna Maloy – Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton
Jay Mauldin – Sacred Heart – El Reno
Todd Regier – Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton
John Rieger – Saint Charles Borromeo, BMCHS
Paul Streets – Saint Philip Neri – Midwest City
Kathy Wilson – Christ the King
Fr. Mark Mason – Sacred Heart – El Reno
Fr. Tim Luschen – Saint Charles Borromeo.